Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ODBC Connection Failed (Linking to an Unknown Data File)

Status
Not open for further replies.

CH84

Technical User
May 8, 2011
US
Hi All,

I am fairly new to linking to databases, so please bear with me. As of right now I am working on pushing and pulling settings from a settings file (attempting to automate the process). The manufacturer uses an .rdb file extension, and refers to the file as a database. However, when trying to link to the database I get an error. Typically software producers provide a driver associated with their database files that they produce. The only drivers provided with the software, do not run when opening the settings file. In other words, the program handles the settings with the software without linking to the file. I have tried a trace and everything else I could think of, but no luck. I am thinking that they call this file a database, when in fact it is not.

I have opened up the settings file as a text file to view the formatting. It looks to be comma delimited, and fairly standard. I would just edit the file by opening it up, but the file will be unrecognizable to the settings program afterwards.

I have pulled the data from the file with Interactive SQL “ISQL,” but it just shows up like in the text file, and there does not appear to be an active link. It also shows up in my command line which is unhelpful. When attempting to pull the database information, it actually states that the file is not a database file.

Excuse my lack of understanding, but here are my questions:

1. Is there a driver that will link to any data file, regardless of the formatting?