Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

obtaining info from another website?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chucklez

Programmer
Jul 25, 2002
US
I have only been doing PHP coding for a month or 2 now, and what little I know is self taught, so please bear with me.

A little Background:
I play an online game, and I run a personal site that keeps track of player rankings. Now individual rankings fluctuate from 1 minute to the next, and I want to provide my users up to the minute information. This current information is displayed next to information obtained from the last update. This way you can see if your game ranking has increased, decreased or stayed the same.

Currently, if a user wants to view an updated listing, he needs to go to the site, copy and paste the information into the form i designed, and click the submit button. I have php code that parses the information, checks it against the previous updated listing stored in an SQL DB, and displays it properly formated.

What I would like to do is skip the copy and paste portion of this. Is it possible to use the cookie information to send a request, obtain this info, and process it the way I described above? If so, how? Im not asking someone to code it for me, just point me in the right direction. I have a programming background already, so I can figure out the logic, I just need pointed in the right direction.

I know it seems a silly thing to do, but it keeps me busy.

Any questions I can answer to help you give me an answer I will give. Thanks in advance.

in principal you can retrieve information from a cookie, yes.