Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Object Help with extending a supertype

Status
Not open for further replies.

modika11

Programmer
Jan 31, 2008
Hi All,

I am getting my head round OO and am trying to write better applications usimg the techniques available. I am new to this so still get majorly stumped at times.

I have a baseCompany supertype which is abstract and from that i create two subtypes of my base which are client and vendor. Client maps to the base class, but vendor exposes some extended properties. Where i am having some difficulty is creating the client and vendor data provider class. I would like if possible to define some sort of companyProvider interace/abstract class that defines the methods that both the classes will use, but i am a bit confused as the vendor object exposes extra properties so does that mean i cant utilise a base in this instance.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Rob

If I understand you correctly, then client and vendor will extend baseCompany, and implement companyProvider. Then you can reference either class as a baseCompany or a companyProvider, but only use the methods define in those classes/interfaces. If you need to access the additional properties in vendor and you know its a vendor, there shouldn't be any problem. If you only know its a companyProvider, then you'll need to have all the properties in the companyProvider interface, and just not use them when they aren't applicable. Hope this helps.

Hi Jaxtell, i am not sure i explained myself in the best way, most of what you understood is correct but i dont think i explained the whole structure.

I have a baseCompanyDetails class of which is inherited by