Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Object Files 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

y2k1981

Programmer
Aug 2, 2002
IE
I'm a beginner in C so I need somebody to help me out here. What exactly is an object file. I know that you can create several object files from several .c files and then create the executible file using the object files. But what exactly are they? why can't you just create one .c file and compile that into one .exe.

I know that there's obviously reasons for this, they're just questions I'd like to know the answer to. Can somebody help me out... or point me to a good tutorial that can. Also, if anybody knows a general good but thorough tutorial on C... I'd be 4ever greatful!!!

Not asking for much am I!!!!! :)

y2k1981,
Large applications are composed of hundreds of thousands lines of code written by hundreds of programmers.
Try imagining all the code in a sngle file,how will different engineers modify the file while ensuring that no one else is modifying it at the same time,searching for code in the same file will be a horrendous job.
To make programming much more modular we try to limit the size of a single .c file.

There are two steps in making an executable,1) compiling all the code and generating the machine-code 2) Resolving all the unresolved symbols e.g. resolving all the functions which have been called in a particular C file.

the 1)st step produces an object file while both teps produce an executable file. An executable also has to have an entry routine,called main() in C.

I would suggest that U get a copy of K&R(kerningham and ritchie) book on C.

cheers
amit
crazy_indian@lycos.com

to bug is human to debug devine