Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Not playing video properly...vista pc

Status
Not open for further replies.

pw75

Instructor
Sep 14, 2008
GB
I work in IT, but this is annoying me now! My home PC, running vista will not display video. Sound is fine. Using GSpot the codec (XVid) says its installed (avi file). I reinstalled DirectX10 as recommended on another post. These video's were working fine before I tried to cull a few broken codecs using DSF Manager.

To go back in time...... I started this process off, because I have a Canon HF10 camcorder which records files in AVCHD (m2ts files). Canon supply software from pixela which had stopped displaying correctly, despite uninstalls and reinstalls. I therefore tried to fix the codecs etc that were reported broken in sherlock2 and if anything it has made it worse. ( I may of been ruthless on the codec cleaning front)

Apart from directx 10, I have uninstalled reinstalled vista codec package.

Windows Media (wmv) files are now working fine, but files needing divx (avi's) will not play video, just sound.

If I can A) get my avi's working that would be great because I edit quite a few videos, and B) get m2ts files working in pixela I would be very happy and very grateful.

Any more info please let me know.

As I said, it has all been working at some stage.

With thanks

Why not install the Klite codec pack?

SimonD.

The real world is not about exam scores, it's about ability.

Simon

Thanks, yes I had done this as well. Interestingly when I installed Klite it recommended removing vista codecs wmv stopped playing but it didn't get the avi's working.