Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Not displaying a web page's source. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

1200Bandit

Technical User
Oct 26, 2003
US
Hello,
I have been a Web designer/Master for 10 years. I work with WYSIWYG ( GoLive. I know, I played the wrong card when thay came around, But I was a already an Adobe fan, still am! ) JS, CSS, Pearl, ect.. But not with server sided stuff like ASP ect..
Last week I had one of my web sites get spammed by a SpamBot, It was so bad that it shut down all the email boxes.
When I asked tech support what happened, they told me that it was my fault for displaying the info in the first place.
Ok, live and learn.
I work long hours and my time is at a premium. The things I learn usually come from dealing with new software products + 3rd party plugins, and the learning curve can be so daunting that I watch the sunrise.

Lately I have noticed that web designers have been "hideing" their pages content with Java Scripts.
This page is an a good example of what you don't see (But I know that this page is making calls to a BB program.).
Try it ( right click <veiw source> ).
But, I have seen sites that have a couple of JS in the Header or <body> that make calls for normal content Href's IE images, text, and most importantly JS that is usually sits in the source to add content (drop downs,boxes,buttons, ect...).

I have not found any step by step overview of the concept, and instruction on how this is acomplished.

I think this is a really important (security) issue.

What I would like to do here is ask-

How is it done?

Does the content reside in an other &quot;hidden&quot; html page layed out with the content that should appear?