Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Nortel CS1000 with Octel VM

Status
Not open for further replies.

nooga14

Technical User
Mar 11, 2014
US
I am new to Octel system and Nortel and want to know if there is any way to create a vm box which can then handle a transfer to 96 patient rooms. We have a new building and the numbering of new patient rooms are 5th fl - 5101 - 5132; 6th Fl - 6101 - 6132 and 7th fl - 7101 - 7132 but those DIDs are not available so I want to find a solution that can let people call in to a DID which can give them option to transfer to these rooms. If not by Octel then maybe going to non DID 5 digit numbers, I do have 1000 range which is set for Spree codes currently if that can be used. Tried getting another block of DIDs from telco but nothing available. Any suggestions are truly appreciated.

What type of Octel system do you have? The answer depends on the system type, as it can be different for the different octel systems.

You can use the type 32 mailbox to answer the call and then have them dial the room number. Then it will transfer to that ext number.

There are different ways to do this but that may work out best for now.

Ken Means

"I find that the harder I work, the more luck I seem to have."
- Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826)

KenMeans.....I think I read about this but it won't support 96 extensions, I think only 12-16 exts.

No i will support as many as you have in the system. it is not a menu where you press 1 for this and 2 for that you dial the 4 digit number and it transfers it to that number or what is set as the extension for that number

Ken Means