Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Noise in Phone Line Disconnects Modem..................Why?

Status
Not open for further replies.

babar

Programmer
Jul 15, 2000
ZW
<br>Hello Everyone!<br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;I am a student of 5th semester doing Computer Science Bachelors. This is my first time, posting a Questions at Tek-Tips concerning a project about Modems.&nbsp;&nbsp;<br><br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Modems disconnect if there is noise in the phone Line,<br>as Modems interprett noise as data signals.<br><br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Why these Noise signals are interpretted by Modems in&nbsp;&nbsp;such a way that Modems disconnect themselves from the ISP Servers.<br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;OR<br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;What Kind of ('Hardware' or 'Software') Error is there, Making Modem lose connection.<br><br>I need detailed information about the whole Error Process, or some source of information , which one of you can recommend, will help me a lot.<br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;<br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Thank You Tek-Tips and all the Members. <br>&nbsp;&nbsp;