Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

No DNS resolution from host connected to VLAN

Status
Not open for further replies.

fenderjbass

IS-IT--Management
Jun 4, 2011
US
Hello all,
I'm having this odd issue with an XP pro host I have setup in a test environment. I'm currently studying for CCNA, and working on vlan routing. On the default Vlan 1 the host worked fine. Once I connected it to a another VLAN, I can't access the internet. Do an ipconfig /all I can see ip of dhcp server, DNS server. I can ping the Default Gateway (IP of VLAN 10), and the IP of VLAN 1. So I can at least assume routing is working on my Core Switch. So here's were it gets interesting! If I plug my laptop running Win 7 in to Vlan 10, it works!! If I plug in another host running XP home, it works!!! I tried a few things, assigning a static IP in the Vlan 10 subnet, as well as just giving it a static DNS address. If i try to ping 8.8.8.8, I get no response. So I thought the issue may have been deeper. So tonight I rebuilt the computer. I did a bare metal install. And sure enough, it still doesn't access the internet. Web pages still time out. One interesting thing I noticed is that if i ping google.com, it resolves the correct IP. But still, pings time out. I didn't connect it to Vlan 1, so how it knew what to resolve google.com to, but not access internet is odd for sure. More info on my setup. I have a Cisco switch setup as my networks Default Gateway. I have DHCP setup on Windows Server 2008 R2. IP Helpers are assigned in VLAN. But I've at least proved my setup is good since, two other computers have no issues. Any help would be appreciated!!!