Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Nfuse with SSL 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

june1980

MIS
Jun 16, 2003
US
We need to get a app out to our customers, and we want to do it with 128bit SSL encryption. Here's the deal; I've never used that before. What could ya'll tell me about this? Can you point me to a PDF somewhere?

I could use anything you've got on securing Nfuse.

On windows 2k sp3 running Citrix fp1. Sorry, should have included that to begin with.

I can tell you that you will need to obtain a digital certificate from Verisign or some other verification source and register that certificate within IIS and the FQDN with an Internet host authority. I think you can download an IIS lockdown tool from Microsoft.

You can also use your own "Private Certificate Authority".. just make sure to give the Root Certificate to your customers... Public CAs can be costly. But, it all depends on the number of customers you need to give the certificate to...

Hope this helps some...
Brandon

Cool, doing google searches and finding stuff out based on what you guys are telling me. Thanks!

However, does anyone know how to generate your own public/private certs?

Thanks again!

You can create a Private CA- Have to be on a running the certificate service (add/remove pgms, windows components)... The CA will generate your root and server certificates.

Then you have to download the cert to the PCs and/or Servers that will use them by going to
where servername is the FQDN of the server running the certifcate services,

TO INSTALL THE SERVER CERT--
Click Request a cert. and then next;
Click Advanced request and click Next;