Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Technical User
Mar 11, 2011
IN
Hi All,

I am a newbie to this forum ....i am working as a Technical Support providing first line support on Aspect , Nortel and Cisco Voice systems. Now i want to move into a Better Avenues by Specializing in any one technology and improving my chances of survival and good Paycheck . I wish to be an Expert on Nortel but People are advising against it calling Cisco Call manager as the Next Big thing the industry is migrating to...Can anyone please provide some career Advise..I have very little access to resources as i am tech support working remotely and cannot afford to buy any equipment here in India.

the more you learn the more money your worth.. you still need to know this platform for another 10 years, and avaya and cisco.. cisco is getting a bad rep around here as not reliable..

it is realiable, if you install it right and keep the data geeks from making changes and booting trash once a day..

i still have a rolm customer, they went out of business, seems kine 15 or 20 years ago.. only change is i charge more since they can not call rolm tech support any longer

john poole
bellsouth business
columbia,sc

Don't discount being a subject matter expert in Nortel PBX's. 20 yr old systems are still around for a reason - because they are extremely reliable and they work very very well. But hey, the fewer Nortel PBX techs that are out there, the more valuable I become.

Cisco is great stuff - and if you know Cisco IOS for their switches and routers, the transition to their VoIP stuff isn't too difficult if you have a telephony background.