Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie - USB PC to PC GeneLink file transfer problems.

Status
Not open for further replies.

austim

Technical User
Jul 17, 2001
AU
Hi, all.

I am a complete newbie trying to set up a small 'network' (ie connect my laptop (Win 98) to my desktop (Win 2K) via the USB ports.

Doing my best to understand what my desktop motherboard documentation tells me (amplified by a visit to the Genesys Logic website for the latest software), I have installed Genelink PC to PC drivers and the File Transfer application on both machines. As I read the vital signs, both machines seem to be doing their very best to talk to each other, but they don't quite achieve any intelligent conversation.

What I observe is this:

With the USB/USB cable (supplied with my motherboard) installed as per the instructions, and the Genelink application started on the desktop, there is no sign of any action (not too surprisingly, of course). At this stage the little icon in my taskbar shows the local area connection cable to be 'disconnected'.

When I start up Genelink File Transfer on my laptop, both Genelink screens show a message "Browsing remote's data directory...". I see that as clear evidence that I am getting very close. However, the taskbar icon continues to show that the local area connection cable is unconnected during this attempt at reading the remote directories.

All drives and partitions on both machines have been set as shared; for preliminary testing a few folders in each C: drive have been set as shared (I will go through the exercise of sharing every folder once I can see anything in the remote directories).