Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie SAN Questions 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmail2

Programmer
Jun 15, 2005
IE
Hi all

I'm new to the world of SAN's and need some help deciding what route is best. Can somebody help me out with the following questions?

1. Is it possible to put a SAN at our HO and one at our DR site and have their synchronize over our existing WAN link (using iSCSI or fcip?) ? Do we need any additional 3rd party software for this and if so can anybody recommend any ? How would I handle failover to the DR site incase the server at the HO failed but the SAN was still operational ? Should I just use DFS-R instead for this ? Or would Windows clustering work ? I've never dealt with Windows clustering so I don't know too much about it unfortunately.

2. If no 1 is possible, is it also possible to only synchronize data on certain array's ? Eg synchronize Array A to DR site but don't synchronize Array B?

3. If I have a SAN "feeding" space to 3 different servers, is it possible (again, using 3rd party software if necessary) to dynamically re-assign spare space from one array to be used by another server ? As I understand it, with "native" SAN setup an entire array must be assigned to one server ?

OK sorry ... slightly more than 3 questions there ! But hopefully somebody can point me in the right directions. I've tried googling some of this stuff but it's not giving me the exact answers I'm looking for

Thanks again !

Irish Poetry - Karen O'Connor
Irish Poetry and Short Stories - Doghouse Books
Garten und Landschaftsbau

Hi gmail2