Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

J741

Technical User
Jul 3, 2001
CA
I am new to Exchange server and it's interaciton with outlook, but have recently been assigned administrative responsibilitied for a small network which already has Exchange configured on a Windows NT 4.0 Back Office Server.

As it is now, each user uses Outlook to access their LAN inbox, internet e-mail, callender, contact list, etc. The "folders view" is enabled in outlook, and each user can see all folders for each other user, and can access each other user's contact list, callender, etc.

Now, a new user has been added to the network. In the new user's Outlook, the folder view contains her mailbox, callender, contact list, etc. on the server, but also a set of the same on her workstation. She can not see the other user's set of information, and the other user's can not see her set of information.

So my question is, how can I configure this so that the new user can access the Exchange information the same as the other user's do, and so that the other users can se the new user's Exchange informaiton? Where are the Exchange options on the server, and what do I need to change on the workstations?

Please remember that I'm new to Exchange, so please provide as much detail as possible.

Thanks in advance.

Are you using exchange mail boxes or PST files on this users pc, to check this go into Mail in control panel and click the delivery tab should say MAILBOX-USENAME if you are using the exchange mailbox.