Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

PhoneTeck

Technical User
Aug 6, 2003
US
Im very new to Zenworks 6.5 and I created an application object and associated it with a Workstation object and everytime I boot the workstation it doesnt load the application object in fact it does nothing. I downloaded the Documentation but it still doesnt answer alot of my questions does anyobne have a good tutorial on setting up an application object. Im pulling my hair out at this point.

Help

Welcome to ZEN.. You're going to love it.

I would recommend that for starters, you associate the apps to the users, not workstations. Once you figure out how things work a little better, you can start to experiment with the workstation associations.

Marvin Huffaker, MCNE

I thought a little more about what you are asking and realize that you might be confused as to how ZEN works.

Associating an application to either a workstation or a user will not automatically install it. There are Numerous options that determine the behavior of the installation.

Generally you assoicate the application with a user, and then you check the boxes to determine where the icon will appear (if at all).. It can be the desktop, the quicklaunch, the taskbar, the startmenu, or the nal app window. That's the first step. For complex applications that require an installation, the idea is to install the application the first time you click the icon. The subsequent launches of the app will recognize that the app is installed and will just run it instead. (these are very general statements).