Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

newbie question on classes 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

clayalberty

Programmer
May 17, 2003
US
I'm just starting to learn c++ and I'm working through a book. I have a basic confusion relating to class usage. To give an example of a has-a class paraphrased from the book:

class Point // holds x,y coordinates
{
public:
void SetX(int x) { itsX = x; }
void SetY(int y) { itsY = y; }
int GetX()const { return itsX;}
int GetY()const { return itsY;}
private:
int itsX;
int itsY;
};

class Rectangle
{

<code omitted>

private:
Point itsUpperLeft;
Point itsUpperRight;
Point itsLowerLeft;
Point itsLowerRight;

int itsTop;
int itsLeft;
int itsBottom;
int itsRight;
};

Here's my question: WHY are we declaring variables of type Point?? I can see that Point can hold 8 bytes assuming that each integer is 4 bytes (from itsX and itsY)...and I understand that Point is now a user-defined type just like int is a built-in type...but what now are the properties of itsUpperLeft, etc.? Point is also used in other places in the code as a return type for several member functions of Rectangle, which seems to present the same problem in my mind.

Many Thanks!

>WHY are we declaring variables of type Point??

The variables seem a bit redundant really, perhaps they are just there for some illustration.

Point mUpperLeft;
Point mBottomRight;

should be enough. You could still get the &quot;bottom&quot;:
int GetBottom() const { return mBottomRight.GetY(); }

No need for the extra itsBottom etc.

>but what now are the properties of itsUpperLeft, etc.?