Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie question about keyboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

mevasquez

Programmer
Aug 26, 2003
US
I need to reboot a hp 9000 and I am new to this machine. Is there a way to reboot the hp9000 using the keyboard. I am new here and they lost the root password. I need to reboot to boot up into single user mode. I am not used to this keyboard.

Sorry to say, if you don't have the root password, you are going to have to do a hard boot: unplug the system and then plug it back in. I don't think HP has a keyboard like Sun that will let you boot without the password.

I believe MikeLacey wrote an FAQ in this forum on what to do if you have lost the root password. Have you checked that section out?

I got on a another user group and got the answer. Pressing Control-B will drop me into the Guardian Service Processor (GSP). There is a serial terminal connected to the HP9000. I just have to look at the following link, which should have the answer I need. I will keep you posted.

Mike

I didn't know you could press Ctrl B as an ordinary user and get to the /etc/passwd file to change it. Let us know how it works.

Check this page out, I will be doing this today. Ctrl-b just drops into the GSP Command Mode. There is a command, AR, (Automatic server Restart) if you have administrator privileges. If you do not have a password for the administrator, then you can reset the password to default "via a small reset button on Core I/O at the back of the system to regain access to the GSP."

Once this is set, then you can issue the command to restart the server.

I will let you know the results.

Mike