Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

newbie perl ldap question 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nostradamus

Technical User
May 3, 2000
SE
I'm trying to do the following.

Connect to an ldap server and modify an object (objectclass=groupofuniquenames).
The object has an attribute called uniquemember and it's value (multivalued attribute) are several distinguished names (DN).

I want to update these uniquemembers with a list of dn's that I have in an external file.

I'm no programmer and after this day, I'm sure I'll never will be.

I manage to connect without any problem. I can also do ldap-modify to delete and add values of my attribute.
BUT, only if I specify them manually. I can't manage to change my values automatically from the input file.

This is my code.

Code:
my $DISTNAME = 'cn=admin,ou=unit,o=organisation,l=locality,c=country';

open (FILE, "dn");

while (<FILE>) {
        my $diffdn = "$_";
        print $diffdn;
        $ldap->modify( $DISTNAME, add => {uniqueMember => '$diffdn'} );
}
close FILE;
It prints my entries beautifully but I can't get is

What I want to do is run ldap->modify on the admingroup and add uniquemember from the input-file called dn.
I know I'm close and that this is easily fixed. However I've spent the whole day trying to find a sollution to this. I've searched the internet and changed the code way to many times.

Any help on this would be very grateful.

/Sören

could be the single-quotes around '$diffdn' are causing your code to not work correctly, remove them. Don't use any quotes around a single-scalar:

Code:
$ldap->modify( $DISTNAME, add => {uniqueMember => $diffdn} );

Then try your code again.