Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie needs help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klo

Technical User
Aug 28, 2002
US
I am new to SCO Unix (or any unix for that matter). I'm determined to learn this OS. Right now I have a very large headache that only seems to develope when I fire up the unix machine!
First problem: When using the SCO APC deamon(?)and connected to a Back-up UPS 650 via serial port,the machine will shut down a few seconds after getting into multiuser mode regardless of the "seconds before shutdown" setting. Any ideas?
Second problem: I have 3 computers here. A Windows XP Home machine, a Windows 2000 machine, and a SCO Unix 5.06 machine. The XP machine has a USB broadband modem and all 3 are networked. The SCO machine is connected but that's it. I can ping the card on the SCO machine but nowhere else. How do I get internet on the SCO machine?
Third: Is there any way to download software for unix on the XP machine, burn it to a cd, and then get the unix machine to recognize the data on the cd?
Major headache for me but I sure easy for the experts out there. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks