Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie needing assistance in the easiest way to replacing a broken Nortstar ICS 2.0 board with anoth

Status
Not open for further replies.

jethrobodean

Technical User
Jun 21, 2018
US
Hello guys, I am a business owner with a Nortstar ICS 2.0 system. I want to replace the main working board with another after a surge lighting strike, I lost the "on hold music". I thought that I could buy a used 2.0 system and swap the memory cards and everything should work. It doesn't. Do I need to reprogram the whole system or is there an easier way to do this. I thought all the programing would be held in the memory card. The local phone shop is clueless to this old machine. Do I need to reset the new board to factory settings then shut it down and swap memory cards or do I need to start fresh?

Yes programming memory is with the motherboard capacitor.

The reason the new one may not work is because it may have had a higher release software in it so it is not booting up when you put in a lower software.

If it came with sofware in it then put it all back as was then:
When downgrading a Feature**STARTUP must be performed on the system then go through the motions and when it states "Applying template" wait about 15-20 seconds then pull the power, swap software and any hardware then boot up and wait up to 20 minutes sometimes.

If you purchased only a cabinet then you need to short out the Capacitor on the motherboard for about 10 seconds with a 100ohm resistor or screw driver......the resistor method will not knock the life out of the capacitor and is suggested.

And yes program form scratch.