Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

NEWBIE: Is this a proper class design? 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

DeanConsulting

Programmer
Jan 11, 2002
US
Hello,

I am new to OOP programming and struggling a little. So, please be easy on me.

I want to design a small software application that keeps track of a user's software keys. The program will be able to add, edit, and delete keys from a file. The data for a key will be: title, version, purchase date, key1, key2, author, and contact.

I want to do this in Java. I am not so much interested in the code to do it rather I am interested in how to create classes and objects.

Here is what I have come up with: (Comments/Suggestions please)

Class:
softtitle

Properties: name,version,purchaseDate,key1,key2,author,contact

Methods:
saveTitle(),loadTitle(),deleteTitle(),displayTitle()

Is this even close to being right or am I not grasping the concepts of OOP yet?

Thanks in advance,
Noble

---------------------------------------
Noble D. Bell

If you want this to be a GUI based program (or even console for that matter), you'll need more than 1 giant "do it all" class.
Try breaking it down further into a class that reads/writes the data from the file, a class for the data that is read or written to the file, a class for the GUI...

Yes -- break large problems down into a bunch of smaller ones, and keep breaking them down smaller until you can't go any farther.