Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie in VB

Status
Not open for further replies.

victora

Programmer
Feb 11, 2002
US
I'm a programmer from a forgotten era. (you know, COBOL, RPG in AS400...) Started with VB 6.0 like 2 weeks ago and man, do i have tons of questions!
Anyway, here's my scenario: I'm trying to access an MS SQL 2000 using ADO. I use the property windows and was able to display records from my table: First,Previous, Next,Last...Eventually I want a button to do Add, Delete, Find, Cancel, Edit, Save

If somebody can give me a sample code to programatically connect to my SQL Server. Pls see below:

Server= myServername
Database=myDatabaseName
Table=myTableName

And what section or event those codes will be?

I have more questions in my mind but I will ask them as needed.

Thank you very much.

first of all it seems you are using ADODC controls instead of ADO code.
If this is the case then CHANGE it now.

regarding all your other questions if you search these forums (forum709 and forum222) you will find plenty of samples and FAQ's to help you.

Once you have done so and tryed some code please come back with your code and more specific problems and we will help you as we can.

Regards

Frederico Fonseca
SysSoft Integrated Ltd