Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie in Trouble 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mighty

Programmer
Feb 22, 2001
US
Hi Folks,

I have been left in the lurch and need to make changes to our router. We have a Cisco 1601 router and basically I need to add in a static route but have absolutely no idea to do it as I have no experience with routers. CAn anyone tell me how to do this.

Thanks.

Mighty

the command needed is:

ip route <remote network> <subnet mask> <next hop router>

so if the remote network is 192.168.10.0/24 and the next router along the path towards the remote network is 10.10.10.5 the command would be:

ip route 192.168.10.0 255.255.255.0 10.10.10.5

How do I print the current routes set up on the router. Is it just ip route print???

Mighty

Do you need to add a static route for NAT? As in, you have an external IP you need to match up and translate into an internal IP?

Example:

Internet----->external IP -->Router-->Internal IP

For that you would use

ip nat inside source static command - you can find more info here:

To look at the routing table you need to command:

show ip route

Now, if you need to look at the lines on your configuration pertaining to the static routes, you need to issue the command:

show running-config

and look at the ip route ... lines