Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie here- HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

bran2235

IS-IT--Management
Feb 13, 2002
US
Hello everyone-
New to SANs / NASs / etc...
We just implemented:

An HP EVA 4000 (2 controllers) w/2 Disk Shelves (2 groups)
Two Fiber HP Switches
AND a NAS Cluster (2 HP DL380s) using Microsoft MPIO.

So far, we have carved out 4 150GB partitions and presented them to the NAS cluster (2 DL 380s). Now, how can I use this 600 GB of space for a "File Server" purpose? Basically, I just need to share Directories, Docs, etc. Since I don't understand everything above, how will an end user access data on one of these 4 partitions (LUNs?)?? Is it similar to UNC syntax? \\servrername\sharename????? Am I doing this right????

Any suggestions???? I have to migrate two file servers to this space of 600 GB!! I want to make sure I understand what I am doing and make sure I do it the right way- before I even begin!!!!

Many, Many, Thanks!!!!!!
Brandon

You should see the Microsoft MPIO's documentation. The SAN (FC switches and storage) is just the back-end. The presentation servers are the 2 HP DL380s with the windows software.

I don't know about the MPIO, but I guess you should share some folders and get them as \\server\shared_folder as in any windows system.

Cheers.

Chacal, Inc.[wavey]

The NAS heads should have connections to your Ethernet LAN. With that said, when you create the CIFS server (Common Internet File System), you should then add it to the domain. You then create shares and assign the shares to the CIFS server. You in turn map the drive as \\cifsservername\sharename

Thanks everyone-

Here's a more complex question (same issue):