Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie - Free SQL builder and SQL dialect questions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JGKWORK

IS-IT--Management
Apr 1, 2003
GB
Hi, hope someone can help?

Just started a new job with a company who are using Informix v7.3 on Linux.

I have never used Informix or Linux before (mostly GUI products) so as you can imagine it is a big leap for me to use a terminal and pure SQL.

What I would like to know is are there any (preferably FREE) programs which can allow me to do pretty much what access query builder allows me to do i.e. build select, udpdate, delete, insert etc queries using a GUI but that WORK with Informix 7.3?

I have tried Flyspeed SQL but this only supports from Informix 8 onwards, Win SQL but this doesn't allow me to perform outer joins for some reason and doesn't allow updating for more than one row at a time(that I can figure out), Active Query builder, free query builder, razor sql 4 and SQL Leonardo I can't get too work with Infx 7.3.

This brings me on to the question of the SQl dialect of Informix - I am using the MERANT 3.50 ODBC driver to connect to Informix for the above programs so does this driver use ISQL to talk to the database for queries?

The strange thing is the WinSQL program doesn't allow outer joins through this ODBC driver but Excel using the same driver does.

Can someone please explain to me how the driver and SQL dialect works between the program and the db?

Sorry I know there's a lot there but I'm really struggling to get my head round this! Many thanks.

Many thanks for the link.

I can't seem to get hold of a JDBC driver to get this to work, why is Informix so hard to work with?!!