Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie: Am I doing this right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GriffMG

Programmer
Mar 4, 2002
FR
Hi,

I'm new to C# and I have just started a pretty big conversion from Clipper... an early hurdle has been, what should have been, a really simple form with a table in SQL displayed in a DataGridView. My problem has been concurrency violations, particularly when I've tried to delete a record programatically - which I need to do because a) I want to do some validation first and b) for some reason the interactive delete from 'Allow Users to Delete' will not delete the last record in the table (it deletes it from the grid, but not the underlying table).

So, DataGridView, linked (bound) to a DataTable and the only way that actually seems to work is not to 'Delete' the record from the datatable, but to make a note of the identity (if that is available - new records don't have one in a DatagridView!) use a remove and then issue a SQL command to delete the underlying record.

Thus I end up with this:
Code:
        private void btnDeleteElement_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            int i = 0;
            foreach (DataGridViewRow drv in dgvElements.SelectedRows)
            {
                if (drv.IsNewRow )
                {
                    MessageBox.Show("You Cannot Delete the 'New record line'", "Problem", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Exclamation);
                    drv.Selected = false;
                    i = -1;
                    break;
                }
                else
                {
                    i++;
                }
            }
            if(i > 0)
            {