Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Newbie ? about - mount

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBaileys

Technical User
Jun 23, 2003
US

I am very new to linux. I am able to mount a hard drive with the GUI. But, it is read-only. How can I mount the drive for read write...

mount /mnt/hda2 -rw

??

Thanks,

JB

As far as I know, all file systems are mounted as rw unless its a CD or you explicitly specify -o ro. Your problem is that you, as a normal user, do not have rights to write to the mounted filesystem.

You can try mount /mnt/hda2 /mnt -o uid=[your uid].

--== Anything can go wrong. It's just a matter of how far wrong it will go till people think its right. ==--

Zeland,

I tried the command and it returned an error:
mount: /mnt/hda2 is not a block device

Does it matter if it is a second partition?

I then mounted as mount -o rw /mnt/hda2 and it did not report an error. (seemed to work)

Tried to delete a file and received an error that it is a "read-only" system.

You can use
Code:
mount
to get a list of current mounted partitions (filesystems)
It will show you all partitions mounted and the capabilities.
If your hda2 partition is listed as (ro), you might try to un-mount it with
Code:
umount /mnt/hda2
and then remount it again as rw.
:->

Geirendre,

When unmounting using:
umount /mnt/hda2

It gave an error:
umount: /mnt/hda2: device is busy

Nothing is running. I started knoppix and started a terminal session.

Thanks,

-JB

You can't umount it if you are in that directory,if
Code:
pwd
shows that you'r in /mnt/hda2, then cd to another directory and try again.
Code:
cd
umount /mnt/hda2