Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

new to vmware

Status
Not open for further replies.

aquinox

Programmer
Jul 2, 2007
AU
Hi,

Just wonder if i could get some help here. I'm new to VMware. From my understanding, it allows multiple OS on a single machine. I guess my question here is the other day, i was trying to download it (thought it's an open source) but had to purchase it. Is that right? how do i install it from scratch? do i have to re-format my hard disk and install it first prior to windows or linux?

Thank you in advance

Vmware server is a free downloadable version, you dont need to purchase it, just register in order to get your serial numbers.

No need to reformat your computer, vmware server is not an operating system. Vmware runs much like any other application, you simply configure a virtual machine and install whichever o/s to it as if it were a real system.

Checkout the server data sheet -

[small]have you turned it off and on again?[/small]

VMware makes several products and people tend to get confused about which product is which. VMWare VI3 (also known as ESX) is an operating system on its own. It requires licences that have costs. It is an enterprise product that has high-availability features. VMware Server is formerly known as GSX is a free product that runs as an application on Windows Server 2003. VMware workstation costs money and is also an appication that runs on Windows Server 2003 or Windows XP or Linux. Each product has its own features. You need to decide which is best. With the free product, you get what you pay for. :)