Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New to VBA/VSTO for MS Project (PLEASE HELP)

Status
Not open for further replies.

fansari

Programmer
Jan 18, 2011
US
I am brand new to writing Add-Ins. I have searched for things which seem to be simple but did not find any answers. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Here is my problem:

I am using Visual Studio Professional (VB) 2008 and MS Project 2007 (Not Server). I have created a form with all the fields in a project & a button on the MSP interface which brings up the form. Is there a way to highlight a particular task in the open project & when I open the UI I get the fields populated with the values in the highlighted task? Or how can I select a task in MSP and then grab it's values? I want to be able to make any changes to any of the fields and then save the changes back to the MSP task. In other words I am trying to build a simple UI on top of MSP.

Please help. Thank you in advance

I use VBA not VB. But in VBA you need to use ActiveSelection.Tasks(1). This has a variety of properties that should be what you want.

However - changing the values? As far as I'm aware most Task properties are Read-only and even if they are not, MSP is fragile enough when using the front-end, let alone if you change things in the background.

PDQBach is your man

Simon

@DrSimon

Thank you for the commendation. I deliberately delayed answering this query because I wanted to try a few things out. Your comment "MSP is fragile enough when using the front-end, let alone if you change things in the background" is spot on.

@Fansari