Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New to RAID and not sure about HD config

Status
Not open for further replies.

hoffmak

MIS
Sep 4, 2002
US
Hi. I am about to move from a Dell server without RAID to a Dell PowerEdge 6600 with RAID. It will be an Oracle server, currently requires about 5 hard drives.
I am totally new to RAID, and while I understand its theory, I am having a hard time planning out how many drives I need in the reality of things. I would like to run it at RAID 5.
Any suggestions from any seasoned professionals out there? I have never run on a RAID system before, but I would like it for its data redundancy and recoverability.
Thanks

If you haven't bought the server yet, consider going with the 4x2 backplane, 4 drives per channel * 2 channels, and purchase 4 drives instead of 5, this will leave you with room for expansion later if necessary.

As for space, for Raid 5, the way to figure space is:
numdrives-1 * capacity of smallest drive = Useable space

ie.
Bay 1 Bay 2
4-1 * 18g = 54g Reserved for Later use
4-1 * 36g = 108g
4-1 * 73g = 219g

Then you can add additional space later if you outgrow it.

I would recomend going with either 36's or 73's.

If you are going to need more then this to begin with, then buy the 1x8 backplane and fill all 8, because the formula works the same...
Bay 1
8-1 * 18g = 126g
8-1 * 36g = 252g
8-1 * 73g = 511g

If your going to require more then 511G, then you could also purchase the optional drive bay that will hold 4 more drives, but take up the area below the CDRom....

Mike

MJewell is right, but I would do it a little different.