Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New To Quark - Colour Issues - What's Up With Yellow?

Status
Not open for further replies.

handleodhran

Technical User
Dec 10, 2004
IE
I'm new to this design game but have managed ok in the last 6 months. I sell ads to local businesses on behalf of local sports clubs and design them myself. You can see the results on A friend of mine showed me the basics and put a template together for me. Most people aren't too picky when it comes to colours - they're happy to be supporting the club. When they are picky, I run into problems. I see other threads where Colour Management is mentioned. I create a poster in Quark Xpress 6.1 and then export the whole job to PDF, using the RGB Output Option. My big issue is how the get the colours correct. At the moment I can't for the life of me, replicate yellow. I keep getting green. I've used a CMYK, RGB and HSB version of yellow. The guy who wants the ad, is insistent that the background is yellow. I also notice problems with producing red. If I'm in Edit > Preferences > Display, I'm using 24 bit colour. For each of the boards I produce, I design 29 ads. I'd like to have a template which I can use, which will give me the correct colours each time. Does anyone know how I can achieve this?

using the RGB Output Option

Why use RGB for print?

In C.M.Y.K., one of those is Yellow. I would guess 100% of yellow will do fine to get true yellow.

If 100% yellow is not presenting itself as yellow then you definitely have color management issues. Check the manual for Quark and your operating system to set-up proper color profiles.