Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New to POS programming 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

majorbroncosfan

Programmer
Feb 23, 2001
US
I am currently researching different options for programming a POS for our company's stores. I am a Visual Studio (in several language) and Windows programmer by trade, so I am not well-versed in any type of POS environment. Can anybody point me in the right direction for which platform to utilize?

Are you looking for a packaged solution which allows customization or for some help designing a system from scratch?
Are there already databases describing your inventory items, prices and quantities-on-hand or will you be purchasing/designing an inventory control system as well?
How will items be identified/added to a sale (keyboard/barcode/touchscreen)?

Thank you for your response.

I am currently looking to design a system from scatch, since our current POS is a custom system for our suppliers.

The database that holds all of our information resides here and I have full access to all of that information.

I would like to investigate all possible solutions to gauge the most effective plan of attack. Many of the people in our stores have problems being gentle to the touch screens and are more used to a console-based application. We would like to implement scanning if possible in addition to being able to enter information via the keyboard.

Thanks again for all of your help!!!!

I'm not sure how I can help you.
I'm a .net programmer mid-way through the development of a pos system. We've finished the database design and see the following issues as critical design issues prior to starting to code.