Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New to CGI: Couple of questions 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

solepixel

Programmer
May 30, 2007
US
Hi. I am new to CGI and am just starting out trying a few things. I am a PHP/MySQL developer and am comfortable writing XHTML, XML, CSS, JavaScript, and ASP.NET VB. I know pretty much nothing of CGI and would like to learn a bit more. Here are a couple of questions I have to start out with:

In a project I'm working on, there's some code that looks like this:
Code:
if [[ -x /SOME/DIR/SOMETHING ]];then
 /SOME/DIR/SOMETHING INTR001
else
 SOMETHING INTR001
fi

what exactly is going on here? Is this if statement referencing some file, performing a command, what? what does the [[ ]] mean? why the ";"? what is the "fi" at the end?

Main reason I'm asking about this in particular, because I've looked on the server and there is no file located in /SOME/DIR/ called SOMETHING. There aren't any files on the whole server called SOMETHING. What's this code doing?

Another question I have is I tried this to perform a redirect (something more consistent than "meta refresh" or a javascript redirect:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl
my $URL = "/cgi-bin/main.cgi?INIT";

print "Location: $URL\n\n";
however, I get the message:

Method Not Allowed
An error has occurred.

I tried putting this file in the "CGI-BIN" and I get:

Server Error
This server has encountered an internal error which prevents it from fulfilling your request. The most likely cause is a misconfiguration. Please ask the administrator to look for messages in the server's error log.