Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New to asp and need advice/Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgo333n

Programmer
Jul 16, 2007
GB
Hi,
I am a windows developer and have had this droped into my lap at last minute. I have very little understanding of ASP and have been tasked with this problem

I have been asked to receive a post back which will contain a mobile phone number and an email address i need to capture these two fields and then formulate an email and send it. I know this is a bit vague but can anyone help me with this perhaps a worked or working example?
I presume i will need to write sone vb script to create the email object apopulate its properties and execute the send method, this i know how to to in vb6/vb.net and SQL SErver but not in a web environment.

Many thanks

Daren

You can get the posted HTML form data using the Request object. This object exposes a collection of name/value pairs derived from the HTTP Request.

Unless you are using some 3rd party software, this link will help with sending the email:

This is just what i need many thanks it is a great help, one thing how do i get the moblile number/ email address from the request object into a variable in order to pass into the script you knidly pointed me to?

see w3Schools for capturing form data using the Request object as Sheco suggested....

strEmail = Request.Form("EMail")
strPhone = Request.Form("Phone")

where EMail and Phone are the 'name's of the inputs on a form that is POSTED.

HTH

Mych

From this statement you will understand how very New i am to this stuff, it is a mystery at the moment.