Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New SAN Purchase Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

LanMan116

IS-IT--Management
Mar 12, 2008
US
Hello All,

I am a bit new to the SAN world and could use a few tips and questions answered. We are jus about ready to install VMware and the SAN is necessary to get that done. That being said, i have a few questions concerning the SAN. I'm a bit curious about the CIFS support. I was under the impression that it was sort of required unless you were using Linux. I have some SAN's that have it as part or the cost adn somt that sell it as an Add-On. Any thoughts on that one. I thought in order to do Snapshots that would be a requirement. Also, would i be wasting money if i filled a cabinet with all SAS drives even though i didn't really need SAS drives. Most of what i have is minimal file and print services but have a small Exchange box adn a small SQL box as well. In the IBM N series box you have to fill the whole cabinet with the same drives. I was looking at the IBM adn The EMC AX-4. Any thoughts or ideas are always welcome. Thanks for the time.

Perry

On N-Series, for snapshots you do not need cifs.Snapshots are takn at a volume level, and can be automatically scheduled or taken through remote shell with scripting.
If you want to use the box as a fileserver, it can integrate within your Active Directory and behave as a true server.In this case you need a CIFS license.