Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New PowerEdge 1950: Internal Issue?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoJimbo

Technical User
Mar 21, 2007
US

Hi,

I am a librarian responsible for the library server at a small college. We recently acquired a new PowerEdge 1950 on which I installed Ubuntu Server 6.06 LTS. While troubleshooting an issue with the network folks on campus I got this response -

"It is probably having some internal server issues. From the inside network, it responds to ping but not to http, telnet or ftp. The server operating system appears up, but nothing else seems to be working."

Any idea what the issue may be or how I can isolate it?

Server has SAS 5i Controller/No Raid, Broadcom NetXtreme II 5708 Ethernet NIC.

Thanks.

Found a thread on the Ubuntu forums that may help, will try in the morning. During the install the Broadcom Onboard Ethernet is not detected, wonder if it could be a missing driver?

I noticed this when I installed but I just manually added the loopback, eth0 and eth1 entries to /interfaces and restarted networking and it seemed to work...I was able to download updates and applications. Maybe a newbie mistake, maybe not.

It is also mentioned that the eth0 and eth1 ports seem to be reversed, will check the cable also.

It is probably having some internal server issues. From the inside network, it responds to ping but not to http, telnet or ftp. The server operating system appears up, but nothing else seems to be working."

Maybe Windows firewall or IIS ?