Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

New Database Stuck in Queries, Numbering & Duplicate Names

Status
Not open for further replies.

garykbz

IS-IT--Management
Apr 15, 2010
BZ
I am trying to help the local Ombudsman office here with a database. I am new to database design. I am using a program called Brilliant database Design. I have the database set up already but my numbering is a problem. I have added 15 enteries so far, have deleted all of them, but if i try to add a new entry it will start at 16 and not at 1 seeing that i deleted all. What can I do? I also need some help with queries so I can bring up the amount of cases for the month, Amount of cases by district and query my first or last name. I also have a section on the form for a signature that will be gotten by jpeg from scanner but need it to remain visible when i am printing the form. I am really trying to help this no-profit organization . Please advice me on how to get this completed.

The numbering issue sounds like an Autonumber field in Access and that is how it works. Its only purpose is (or should be) to provide a unique value. You should not treat Autonumber fields (AKA Identity fields) as having meaning beyond being merely unique.

If you need meaningful numbers then there are ways to generate them but those are dependent upon the DBMS / Language that you are using.

Without some knowledge of your tables we really can't provide very specific advice about what your SQL needs to be to get the results that you want.

You will probably get better answers if you ask those questions in one of the forums specific to the DBMS that you are using rather than this forum on General Database Discussions.