Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Networking Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Galarun

Programmer
Jun 28, 2005
US
'Lo all,

I'm programming a card game and am trying to add networking capabilities so you can play against somebody on another computer connected to the network. My question is basically on threading, but I'm new to both threading and networking so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Basically, before the game starts each player must click on the deck to signal to the other player that they are ready to start the game. Whoever clicks the deck first will have a messaged displayed to them that they must wait for their opponent to click on the deck. Once the opponent clicks on the deck both players will be dealt their cards.

How my code works in this situation is that when a player clicks on a deck it sends a signal to the other player that they are ready. Whoever clicks the deck will call an event that determines whether there is a confirmation to play already. If there is, then the player sends a reply to signify that he is ready and then calls the deal function. If there isn't a confirmation, then a message is displayed telling the user to wait for the opponent and then a new thread is started that waits for a response. Once the response is recieved then it breaks the loop and calls the deal function.