Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Networker Restore Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

nooch01

IS-IT--Management
Jan 3, 2007
US
Hi guys,

I'm a total newbie when it comes to networker, so please bare with me. I'm running a Win2k3 environment and have a question regarding restoring a directory (file share). Lets say I have the following backup schedule in place:

Full backup on Monday and Thursday
Incremental Tues, Wed, Fri, Sat and Sunday

If something were to happen to my file share on Thursday prior to my Thurs Full backup running, and I needed to fully restore the file share (OS is fine), how would I go about doing this?

I know I go into the network user, select the client, select the destination, select the directory, but this is where it gets fuzzy for me. It looks like if I click on View/Versions, it shows me the full backups, which is what I think it would restore to (Monday in this scenario), but what happens to any changes that were made to any files or files that were added on Tues, or Wed? That's where I'm confused.

Thanks in advance!

-Mike

I'm using vesion 7.6

Hello,

in the networker user, you can select a 'browse time' (maybe 'changetime' menu).

After the choice, this date/time shows you an 'image' of your file system at this particular time (but this image is the one found while saving data before this date/time, because networker is not updated at every file change on the client, just when performing a backup)

So, you tell networker to restore the files you want at this date/time, and after this, that's networker's problem (finding the right tapes among the incremental or full saves).