Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Network d/b Replication for Multiple Users - Best Way? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

TR6

Technical User
Apr 7, 2003
US
I have been assigned the project of taking an existing database, placing it on the company's network, and make it accessible to multiple users (up to 30). The users will be able to search and view records, enter new information, and edit existing data through various existing forms. I also need a method to arcive changes.

I've never done this before - I'm a mechanical engineer not a programmer, so I'm looking for suggestions and guidance on how to best accomplish this. My first thoughts are to create individual replicas for all users and place a shortcut key on the users individual desktops. Then perform a syncronization during a "Non Production" period, like 12:01 am to update all changes to the data base and replicas. I have no idea how long the syncronization process would take to update 30+ replicas, each with a main data table of 8000+ records.

So, my question is - is this a reasonable approach, or is there a better method to accomplish this?

Your thoughts and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Bill

Hi Bill

No, there is a better way. Since you say you're not a programmer, I'll start at the basics. Sorry if I'm telling you stuff you already know.

Access is designed to work as a "Split Database" application and has a built-in tool to do this.

A Split Database application consists of:

1) a "Back-end" database which contains all the tables the database requires. Nothing else.