Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Network Admin Certs 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

primeaum

Technical User
Aug 31, 2009
US
Okay, I want to take some cert tests and I'm looking for some direction on which way to go first. In the end I would like to do all of these.

Network+
ICND1 & ICND2 (to become a CCNA)
MS Server 2008 Exams 70-640, 70-642, 70-646

I'm guessing I should do the Network+ first and go from there...what are everyone's thoughts? What would help out more?
thanks

What kind of experience do you have?

MCITP:Server Administrator
MCITP:Enterprise Administrator
MCITP:Virtualization Administrator 2008 R2
Certified Quest vWorkspace Administrator

I've been working for 5 years at the same company and do the majority of their network work for them. We have a Cisco core network (routers/firewalls/distribution switches). I also do a lot of server work and still do desktop support. I wear many hats. We have Server 2003 and 2008 implemented, as well as WinXP and starting to roll out 7. I've been through a training class already on Server 2008 and went to school for general networking (they didn't offer specific Cisco classes when I attended) and server administration.

And thank you for your reply, any advice is appreciated.

Well, it would depend on if you were planning to do more work in the internetworking space or server work and if you're intending to move to another job. However, I will say that if you complete your CompTIA certifications before the end of 2010 then you will have a certification for life. If you wait until 2011 to get Network+ then you will have to recertify every few years.