Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Netgear FS752TP Can't Access Web GUI or Ping

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 18, 2005
GB
Hi All,

I am not a network engineer and have very limited networking knowledge.

In our office we have :-

2 x FS752TP
5 x GS110TP

We have just expanded our office and in doing so bought all new Smart Switched. These are basically just out the box and plugged in with very little config.. Standard time date etc..

No VLAN's have been configured, so all ports on the switched are using the default VLAN.

The 2 x FS752TP are connected via fibre and these are used to connect the 2 parts of the office together.

When I boot both the FS752TP switched these work fine for about a week. After this I can no longer connect to the management interface of one of them. I reboot the switched and then again everything is fine for about a week and then I can no longer get connected to one of the switches.

It seems to be that whatever switch is powered on first is the switch I can connect to after a week.

For example.

I power on Switch A first and then Switch B. After about a week I can no longer connect to the management console of Switch B.

I power on Switch B first and then Switch A. After about a week I can no longer connect to the management port of Switch A.

When I can't connect to the management port the switch also doesn't respond to ping.

The devices connected to the switch that is no longer accessible via the management console still work and can access other computer, network resources and the internet etc.

The network does seem a little slower when the switch is not accessible.