Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Netbackup Retention Policy

Status
Not open for further replies.

AROOKIE

Technical User
Oct 10, 2003
US
I'm new to Netbackup and I have a few questions about Retention policies. I have an Quantum ATLP7000 with 16 Drives Connected to 3 Media Servers and one Master/Media Server. I'm Using Netbackup 4.5 (MP5). There are about 300 SDLT3 Tapes in the Backup Device and right now the retention Policy on all Full and Cumulative-Incremental backups is set to 3 Months.

a) How do I know when Netbackup needs more tapes for this level of retention policy? Is it going to tell me that the jobs cannot run until there is Blank Media Available?

b) I have setup the catalogs to be backedup in 2 SDLT 3 tapes. What happens if I have a tape that I need to restore but I dont have the proper Catalog? Can the tape be Cataloged and if so, how?

c) what are the best Practices for setting up retention policices?. With Backup Exec, I used to remove the tapes from the Device after the weekly Full backups were complete, I would then Use the same label to put in a new tape and I would mark what was removed with the proper label number. When I wanted to do a restore and it asked for tape number BSO225S, I would search for that tape and use that lable to restore the data. I understand that this is not recomended and I should never use the same label for multiple jobs. What do you guys suggest?

Thanks

You will need to do some math. If you are saving tapes for 3 months then you will need to find out how much you are backing up during your incrementals and fulls. Then by how many clients and drives.