Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Netbackup Error codes 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cweston2004

Programmer
Nov 6, 2007
US
I am new to NetBackup and am having some issues. Recently we switched out the two tapes we are backing up our files to with blank tapes. Since then I have been getting error code 96 (unable to allocate new media for backup, storage unit has none available) on the first attempt at manually backing up a policy and the error code 86 (media position error) on the second attempt and every attempt afterwards at backing up the same policy.

I have verified with available_media that the media id is in the correct volume pools and that the state is active and not frozen or suspended. Restarting the netbackup daemon causes me to get the 96 error code again.

Can anyone help me out?

is this a autoloader or a stand alone lib?
Can you try some different media?
Any errors on the drives?
Have you reset the drives?