Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Nested IF Statement

Status
Not open for further replies.

raven4

Vendor
Jan 10, 2008
US
I am a novice script writer.

I am trying to write a stored procedure that will include some nested IF statements. The basic concept of the first statment in plain English is:

If condition A is true AND condition B is true, then execute the next If statement:
If Date A is greater than Date B, then do an update.​

Here's my statement so far:

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON
GO

ALTER proc [dbo].[UpdateCheck] (
@DuplicateId varchar(10),
@MergeToId varchar(10)
)
as

declare @MaxDateDuplicateId datetime
declare @MaxDateMergeToId datetime
declare @MaxChangeDuplicateUser varchar(10)
declare @MaxChangeMergeUser varchar(10)

select @MaxDateDuplicateId = max(DATE_TIME) from Name_Log where ID = @DuplicateId
select @MaxDateMergeToId = max(DATE_TIME) from Name_Log where ID = @MergeToId
select @MaxChangeDuplicateUser = USER_ID from (select m.*, row_number() over (partition by ID order by date desc) as rn from
Name_log m) m2 where m2.rn = 1 and ID = @DuplicateID
select @MaxChangeMergeUser = USER_ID from (select m.*, row_number() over (partition by ID order by date desc) as rn from
Name_log m) m2 where m2.rn = 1 and ID = @MergeToID

IF
@MaxChangeDuplicateUser in (select UserID from UserMain um, Relationship r
where um.contactmaster = r.target_id and r.relation_type = '_ORG-ADMIN')
AND @MaxChangeMergeUser in ((select UserID from UserMain um, Relationship r
BEGIN
if (@MaxDateDuplicateId > @MaxDateMergeToId)
BEGIN
Update m
set m.member_type = d.member_type
from Name m, Name d where m.ID = @MergeToID and d.ID = @DuplicateID
END
END

I'm getting the following error: