Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Nero vs Roxio with CD-RW

Status
Not open for further replies.

felixc

Programmer
Oct 2, 2003
CA
Hi,

I like having some CD-RW formatted as a disk, for quick backup purposes. I tought that the format used by Roxio was quite universal, but it looks like Nero, claiming the same standard does not interface properly with discs formatted with Roxio. I'm also wondering if I haven't ruined my data trying to write from Nero to a Roxio-formatted disc.

What's your experience at this?

Felixc

Roxio and Nero use different formaats to format and write to CD-RW's. You have to choose one and stick with it. I've had no experience writing to the wrong format so I can't offer an opinion on whether the disk is ruined or not. When I found that Nero's "INCD" and Roxio's "Direct CD" couldn't reside on the same hd, I had to make a choice. Good Luck

They both reside on my hard drive without a problem. These days I usually use Nero, but Roxio is still there and can be used quite easily.

kiddpete, are you talking about having both InCD and Drag-to-disc together?

Yes, I'm sure I am. That's a hint of a reservation because I haven't spent much time looking into Nero details. I can tell you that I'm running Nero 6 Ultra Edition, and that Drag-to-disc is always resident. In fact, I double clicked on a file while getting a disk ready to burn in Nero a few days ago, and Roxio popped up and 'hijacked' the burn. It was so smooth that I didn't notice that Roxio had horned in until I was close to burning the CD. I let it finish. However, I use Nero almost exclusively these days for CD and DVD burning.