Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need unbiased opinions about development tools for a DB application

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcmercure

Programmer
Oct 22, 2003
US
Hello -

I am a developer with a lot of Oracle backend experience and a variety of front experience with tools such as Oracle Forms, Powerbuilder, Access and VB.

I may be part of a brand new development project that will be using SQL Server as the backend, but there is a chance Oracle may be used. Regardless of the backend choice, the front end development tool is really up in the air.

I have been asked to do some research regarding the front end tool to use. My initial reaction is let's use Powerbuilder, but that is not one of the 'front runners' right now. At the moment, Visual C++ and Visual FoxPro are the choices being looked at the hardest.

At the moment, I don't know much about the application purpose, so I can't provide details about it.

What I need is some opinions concerning front end tool, keeping in mind that the backend may be SQL Server or Oracle.

Any comments and comparison based on first hand experience using the following tools would be appreciated (version information would help as well):

Visual C++
Visual FoxPro
Access 2000 or up
Powerbuilder
VB
Delphi
.NET
Java

Thanks in advance.

- John Mercure

John

In this situation I would recommend going with what you and the other developers feel most comfortable with, so that the design and development can be done more quickly, and expertise to check up and test each others work.