Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need to turn searchable DB into webpage

Status
Not open for further replies.

mhshane

MIS
Dec 12, 2005
US
I have been creating databases for my own purposes for a few years but have never had to make something available to other people. I created a simple database to report the cell phone overages of each user in the company and thought it would be a simple process to publish it on the intranet for managers to look at...I think I'm in over my head.

Using MS Access 2007.

The DB contains the following:
A single table called tblOverages. The table is actually linked to tblOverages in my WATS database (the DB I use for tracking all things related to mobile devices).
qryOverages (uses a form to allow user to input parameters)
frmSearchBy (prompts user to enter parameters such as dept number, employee name, start/end date)
rptOverages (data is displayed to the user as a report)

The idea is the managers can open this DB, the form will appear prompting them to input a dept number, an employee, date range, or leave all blank to see a full listing of overages.
At the bottom of the form is a button they click to generate the report based on the parameters they input.

Now I have two hurdles to overcome:
1. The managers do not have MS Access (did not know that when I created the DB)
2. Need to make available via internal webpage

Is there a way to use a webpage as the front end where the user can input the parameters and then have the corresponding data show as a webpage?
Say John wants to see all overages for Dept 6127.
I would like for him to be able to go to an internal webpage like and frmSearchBy will appear with active fields for him to type in.