Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need to know some basics from those of you who have experience!

Status
Not open for further replies.

LucyL

Technical User
Feb 20, 2002
US
Hi,
I am just beginning to learn about db web applications. Bascially I am wondering the benefits of building such applications? I have read that it enables
-content management, and
-enables real-time transactions....
what are the other real benefits of building such an application? I need to know some real-life benefits and not those just listed off in a book.
Any help is appreciated!
Thanx!

Hi LucyL,

It all depends on the purpose of the application, whether or not an online db application is the right choice.

The biggest benefit I can think about for you off the top of my head (and one you can use to sell to clients) is this: