Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Need help with setting up a home practice server MYSQL

Status
Not open for further replies.

ghus32

IS-IT--Management
Jun 4, 2007
CA
Hey Guys I am looking for some tips on setting up a practice server for mysql.. I have a computer set aside to do this. I am thinkning of just putting linux on there.
As far as these things go I would need to get a server program such as Apache?? I will also need PHP installed as welll as PHPMyadmin to help with mysql??? I am very new to this server/database because I have always worked with windows 2003 server already in place. any help will be appreciated :)
Thanks

Who says you need Linux. and you only need a webserver, if you plan on doing websites based on PHP and mysql.

Anyway, you can just download packages that will install PHP,Mysql, and Apache either for windows or for linux, through a nice windows installer.

WAMP:
EASYPHP:
Of course if you really want to learn, I'd go to each website, and download their installers and then configure them to work with each other. Its a little longer, and you'll ave to mess around with conf and ini files. but its always good to know how to do this stuff.

PHP: Mysql: Apache:
----------------------------------
Ignorance is not necessarily Bliss, case in point:
Unknown has caused an Unknown Error on Unknown and must be shutdown to prevent damage to Unknown.

Thanks for the info. My goal is to set up the server and use it to practice with databases. The new company I am ging to uses MySQL to run their databases. I have a good book on MYSQL but it assumes the server is already set up with PHPmyadmin. so to be prepared I need to set up a server and get some practice in..